Ophthalmology Residency Competitive?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
D

deleted272130

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited by a moderator:
I am a 3rd year student interested in ophthalmology. I saw on a website somewhere that always ranks residencies, that for 2009 ophthalmology went from high (for the past few years) --> intermediate for the first time.

I can't find any statistics on average scores to get into D.O. ophthalmology. I was wondering if anyone knew anything about scores or anything to get in, maybe someone who is about to apply? I'm also wondering if it even matters that it went down b/c that's probably just regarding allopathic since there are so few osteopathic programs.

I know 2 LECOM students that matched into MD ophthalmology this year....I thought that was unheard of!

Any info would be greatly appreciated :)

Ophtho has always been on the high-intermediate side of difficulty for matching. Plastics, Derm and RadOnc tend to be the most selective based on board scores (and AOA status) and the fact that there so VERY few spots for these fields.

There are some more spots in the other fields (like ENT, Ortho, Rads, Neurosurg, Urology, Ophtho, etc) but the board scores (and percent AOA) still remain elevated to match in any of these fields...so I think that it's just based on the fact there are more spots in these fields that makes them "selective" but not "VERY selective" when compared to Plastics, Derm, RadOnc...but again, this is just a matter of semantics as weak candidates are unlikely to match in most of the above fields (though it DOES happen based on extracurriculars, interesting life experiences, LOR, or something like that)...