Ophthalmology and Public Health

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

djack240

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello, everyone! I am a third year medical student planning to pursue a MPH degree, and am wondering if there are any practicing ophthalmologists on this forum who also hold MPH degrees? Specifically, I would like to know what caused you to pursue a MPH degree and how you are able to integrate public health into your ophthalmology practice and/or research. Thank you!

Members don't see this ad.

Based on the number of responses I've received, I thought it would be best to pose a new question :).

In your opinion, what is/are the most pressing public health problem(s) in national/international ophthalmology?

By no means an exhaustive list. A lifetime's work in public health could be focused on the elimination of any of these

In the US, AMD, diabetic retinopathy, POAG
In Africa/parts of middle east - cataract, POAG, trachoma, river blindness
Asia - cataract, ACG, POAG, trachoma

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
By no means an exhaustive list. A lifetime's work in public health could be focused on the elimination of any of these

In the US, AMD, diabetic retinopathy, POAG
In Africa/parts of middle east - cataract, POAG, trachoma, river blindness
Asia - cataract, ACG, POAG, trachoma

I know it's been a while, but I thought I would update you and say "Thanks!". I am currently pursuing two MPH projects related to retinopathy in the US so thank you again for your suggestions!

Hello, everyone! I am a third year medical student planning to pursue a MPH degree, and am wondering if there are any practicing ophthalmologists on this forum who also hold MPH degrees? Specifically, I would like to know what caused you to pursue a MPH degree and how you are able to integrate public health into your ophthalmology practice and/or research. Thank you!