One Road Block Afer Another

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

kyahrm

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Looking for some advice please! I'm at the point where I just want to give up!

I graduated in 2011 with a Biology: Pre-Med degree. I have a applied to schools the last two years knowing my GPA was pretty low and I had a slim chance of getting in but decided to try anyways. Naturally, was rejected both years. This year I have decided I am going to suck it up and retake classes. I have been talking to several schools and each of them tells me even if I retake classes, my GPA will not be high enough or that they only accept 2 re-takes or have a limit on re-takes meaning my GPA will still not be high enough.

I don't want to play the blame game here but my college/advisor really didn't set me up for success. I wish I had known back then what I know now. My anatomy and physiology classes did not have labs with them. When I transferred after my freshman year, they substituted a second biology class for microbiology/ethology/cell biology which do not have labs. Now, I am realizing most schools require two biology classes with labs and I have one.

Here are my stats:

Cum. GPA 3.28

Biology I: C/P Lab
Chem I: C+/A Lab
Chem II: C/A Lab
Physics I: C/B+ Lab
Physics II: C/B Lab
Anatomy & Phys I: B-
Anatomy & Phys II: C+
Biostatistics: A
Exercise Physiology: A
Kinesiology: A
Gen Psych: B-
Dev. Psych: A

Currenltly working as a Rehab Tech at an Inpatient hospital for the last two years. Have over 2000 hours of observation in several different settings. Great recommendation letters.

GRE (taken 3 times)
V: 144
Q: 145
Writing: 4.0 (4.5 on previous try)