one hour short of the o-chem requirement

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

handprint

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have 7 semester hours of organic chemistry coursework, which includes these courses:

1. The first-semester course at the school where I graduated, which included lecture and laboratory, and was worth 4 semester hours.

2. The second-semester lecture course at my current school, which was worth 3 hours.

I thought I had to take two semesters of lab, so I enrolled in the first-semester lab class. I couldn't go directly to the second-semester class because my current school thinks that my previous course wasn't equivalent to its lab course. (As far as I can tell, the difference was that my previous course didn't cover spectroscopy at all.) Also, the second-semester class is listed in the catalog as "Chemistry majors only or instructor consent."

Then I found out THIS WEEK that I misunderstood that requirement. So, really, the only reason for me to take this course is that I have 7 hours of credit and most schools require 8. (I actually do like lab, but I can think of a few better [and less stressful] things to do with my time. :rolleyes:) I don't think I have any other way to earn that one hour of credit.

So, my questions are: Do I really have to take this course, even though it's mostly a repetition of material that I've already learned? If I have 7 hours, will schools automatically reject me?

Members don't see this ad.

Some (most?) schools require "one year of each pre req with labs" and do not list the requirement in terms of hours.

You really need to go school-by-school to find out where you stand. Start with their websites, and send emails to them asking for clarification.

Did you try to get instructor consent? I would be surprised if you got turned down for a 2nd semester lab if you have taken the corresponding lecture...something not adding up here.