OMFS, canadian, low stats... any hope?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
D

deleted721052

Hello,

I'm a Canadian first year student who finished with a 3.3 gpa this year (failed a practical exam which made me fail a whole class... passed the retake but still, hurted my app a lot i guess). Low GPA was mostly due to low work-life balance with competitive rowing. I won't be continuing rowing this year though because yes, it was too much and my grade suffered so hopefully i can bring the gpa up a bit. I have research experience with a published paper, i'm helping giving a conference with my mentor in the fall in NYC, and i have lots of volunteering opportunities and shadowing. I didn't really think i could do OMFS but i've spent the summer shadowing heavy maxillo surgeries and i can't imagine my life doing anything else.

HOWEVER, i know these things barely matters..

I'm Canadian but no way i'm getting into OMFS in Canada so i'm looking at 4 years program in the US. Anyone has done the same and has advice or school names that accept canadians withOUT a undergrad degree? Is there any chance for me or am I a lost case? An intership yea could help? or a GPR? I mean, i'd rather know nowadays if there isn't much chance so i can wrap my head around it already.

Thank you guys :)

Members don't see this ad.

Why can't you get into OMFS in Canada? And what is your class rank?

Why can't you get into OMFS in Canada? And what is your class rank?
Canada's residencies are basically impossible to get into, especially OS (and ortho), because there are sooo few spots. Most canadians go to the US..

and my school doesn't give our class rank but i'm guessing 50th percentil? idk, i have many class higher than average but a few at average.

Members don't see this ad :)