OMFG Walgreens You Suck

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Its Z

Retired
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
So it looks like my daughters as some skin infection... Friend who's an ID faxed me a script for Bactrim Susp and Mupirocin Oint.

Took it to Wags and they said they can't fill it because it's not a hard copy prescription. And the hard copy must be faxed to them...not to me. I said..really? It's not controlled substance.. did tell him I'm a pharmacist and the prescribing doc is a buddy of mine..and that I'm a little out of practice. He said the law has changed and my script is not valid.. but he said since I'm a pharmacist, he'll fill it for me.

Well, the total charge for muprocin was $45.99 (cost is $5.46 - I know this) and my copay was $17.44. The total charge for bactrim susp (200ml) was $27.29 (cost is $12.74 for 480ml bottle) and my copay was $16.60.

Nothing against the poor pharmacist who was working today..I appreciate him.

But good god all mighty.. Decreasing reimbursement my ass... I feel like I got ripped off.

:mad:

Members don't see this ad.

So it looks like my daughters as some skin infection... Friend who's an ID faxed me a script for Bactrim Susp and Mupirocin Oint.

Took it to Wags and they said they can't fill it because it's not a hard copy prescription. And the hard copy must be faxed to them...not to me.

This is true. It looks like you got a break from a pharmacist for filling the prescription.

Members don't see this ad :)
I'm pretty sure you don't need the hard copy for non-controlled prescriptions.

You need the hard copy whether or not it is a controlled substance to prevent multiple use of the same prescription. That's the intent of the law. Whether or not you agree with the law is different issue.

Reactions: 1 user
They have to make money to pay that pharmacist $100K+ a year