# of patients per 12 hour shift

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

mannydoc21

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
as an intern, i feel my program places too much emphasis on the actual number of patients we see. I feel I am getting great training, however, I am under tremendous stress daily to work faster and see about 18 to 24 patients per shift. Our ER is busy, with an annual volume of 70K, but i know its not as busy as some of the major institutions with 100K+. How many patients does everyone else see on an average 12 hour daytime shift? Does everyone else get excessive pressure to evaluate patients faster?

Members don't see this ad.

It is my opinion that interns should NOT be seeing that many patients. Intern year, as well as the rest of residency, is to learn how to take care of your patients correctly, so that you can progress to taking care of them quickly as well. Our interns were expected to see about 1 pt/h. Our 2nd years about 1.5 pt/h, and our 3rd years 2 pt/h. As an attending, you may be expected to see 2.5 pt/h, but more than that is a stretch. I am sorry you are getting this pressure.

I agree with Turtle. Where is this pressure coming from? Have you discussed it with your PD? I do not condone laziness or letting charts sit around in an attempt to get out on time, but 2 patients/hour is too many to expect an intern to safely manage.

Members don't see this ad :)
I saw a lot of patients as an intern and resident. Initially I was grumpy about it. When attendings would teach things, I found myself just thinking "oh great, they just assigned another patient to my team."

As it progressed I became more comfortable with the volume. Now I'm glad I saw that kind of volume. Working for a fee-for-service group, I average 35-45 patients in 12 hours now. More than the national average, but when you're FFS, you like that kind of volume (it does make you tired quickly though).