Odds of getting into medical (MD) school?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

spartan_scalpel

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Bear with me, this might get a little lengthy.

A little backstory may be useful, so I'll start at the beginning. I'm currently a sophomore at a less than stellar college--Ferris State University. However, I started my college career at Grand Valley State University. I was a freshman, pre-med, joined the pre-med club and a sorority. I was in the honors college there, and because of a really bad math professor I ended up with a C, some B's, and A's. Came out to a 3.14 GPA my first semester. Not good, but not terrible considering I was taking honors courses. Here's where I royally screw up. I start dating a guy I went to high school with second semester, and of course I couldn't stay away from him. Every weekend I went to his university to spend time with him, and let my grades slip so badly its inexcusable; literally got a 1.33 because I just did not care, and the only thing that was keeping me at GVSU was my sorority sisters, that I loved and still love very much. So, I made the decision to transfer to my boyfriend's university, which is, you guessed it: FSU.

Yes, I am that girl.

Do I recommend this to anyone? ABSOLUTELY NOT! Stay single during college, seriously. I'm one of those rare instances where everything actually works out and it doesn't end up being a total disaster. I've lived happily with my boyfriend for over a year now, and we have a very healthy, balanced relationship. Anyway, this is not the point of the post--just some insight into my life.