OAT scores 6/21

cessna

Future OD
10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I just took the OAT today and scored a TS (total science) of 400 and an AA (academic average) of 390. What a relief after worrying about this exam for so long!!

For those of you who, like I did, enjoy browsing for advice on preparing for the OAT, here's what helped me:

I studied minimally from the big Kaplan book, which I received for free from a friend. However, as a quick resource to brush up on things I didn't remember well, the big book was invaluable. More helpful to me were the Kaplan flashcards and the practice tests available in the little Kaplan OAT book (the one you can purchase from Barnes and Noble). I spent the vast majority of my time browsing through and taking practice exams, then focused on areas I did poorly in. Overall, I took 2 full-length practice exams plus the free, but abbreviated practice exam at a Kaplan center and sections of the ASCO practice booklet. Unless this isn't enough, I wouldn't recommend paying for any other study materials.

The most difficult thing for me were the time limits. I practiced hard to be able to do physics and math problems quickly and to read more rapidly, and I improved quite a bit. The hard work paid off - I finished each section of the OAT with plenty of time to review problems I wasn't sure on.

For those of you who are still preparing, good luck!! Feel free to ask me any fair questions about what I did to be ready for exam day.

See you in optometry school!!

Members don't see this ad.

wow, great job!! Are you applying for fall '08, and what schools are you interested in?

Members don't see this ad :)
Your scores make it look easy! You said your Kaplan scores were on average about 40 points lower than the real thing. Did you feel like the real OAT was a breeze? It sounds like it, and your scores prove it!

In answer to all of the above posts...