OAT Jan 9 2019

Dreye1234

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys I took my OAT this morning and in the weeks leading up to it I read literally every thread I could find, so I decided to share mine experience.

I'm in my senior year of college, so a lot of the concepts covered on the OAT are pretty fresh, I studied for about a month but only got really hardcore into it (like 8 hours a day) in the past two weeks. This probably won't work for many people but I'm really good at studying a lot of material in not a lot of time, you know your study habits and capabilities more than anyone else. I'm also really strong in organic chem, which is usually people's worse subject, so I hardly had to study that at all.

I focused mainly on physics because it's my worst subject and bio because of the breath of material (I'm not a bio major). I used the big Kaplan book to review everything (It was especially great for physics) and borrowed textbooks from my school's library to supplement. For gen chem, I tried to focus on topics I saw coming up over and over again on Kaplan practice tests and on the free sample OAT. Things like stoichiometry, ideal gases, acid/base and equilibrium. For orgo I just went over my old class notes and study guides I made when taking the classes, paying special attention to reactions with names and general concepts rather than memorizing a million reactions. Its more valuable to know what ortho/meta/para directors are than memorizing every reaction. I took the free shorter kaplan test, two full-length practice tests, and the free sample OAT in the week before my exam to study and figure out other things I need to know.

THE EXAM:
Pretty basic check in procedures, the woman was really good about bringing me fresh sheets for scratch work, the room was quiet and during my break I ate a granola bar and went to the bathroom. They do provide noise cancelling headphones and the cubicle is private

Biology