OAT Injustice. Please help.

subtractrock

subtractrock
10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

I am in a unique and rather upsetting situation, and would greatly appreciate advice from anyone who has something to say about it. I'll keep this post as brief as I can, while including all relevant details.

I am a current applicant for optometry programs for Fall 2005, and took the OAT this past February. I am a graduate from Emory University and have a 4.0 in the science pre-requisites. I have spent the past year working as an optometric technician, and am positive that optometry is what I want to practice.

I took a Kaplan prep course and studied very hard for the exam beginning in November, 2004. In the weeks prior to taking the exam, I took several full length practice exams offered by Kaplan, Scholarware, and finally, the sample exam offered by the OAT administration. On these exams, I consistently scored academic averages above 360. Two days before the actual OAT, I took the sample exam found in the OAT Registration Booklet, and scored an academic average of 390.

On test day, I felt that my performance had reached it's peak, and all that I had worked so hard for was going to pay off. When I walked out of the exam, I felt that I had gotten at least a 380, and the thought crossed my mind that I might have gotten a 400. I am not trying to sound arrogant; I just studied extremely hard for this test, and was anticipating a good score in the mail this week.

Here is my score report that was sent to me, and all six schools that I applied to:

AA 220
QR 230
RC 200
Phy 220
Bio 210
GC 200
Org 210

Percentile : 1-1.7