OAT Breakdown/Experience June 8 2023 (Score: 370 AA, 400 TS)

imsangjin

Reaction score
Hi everyone, I just took my OAT last week in June and was happy with my scores. I will attempt to share my experience prepping for the OAT.

Background: I did some light studying during my winter break (Dec. 2022, ~2 weeks) but had to stop due to school. I started heavy studying for the OAT right after I got back from school so I had around a little over a month to prep. However, as a Bio major, I was taking a lot of science classes (biochem, evolutionary bio, physics 2, biocalculus) my spring semester so I was indirectly studying for this exam.

Study Schedule

This is how I studied given the little time I had to study. I do recommend taking a least a month and a half to study for the exam but if you’re also in a time crunch, it is possible! I also only used OATBooster during this time.

Week 1: I took 3 days to study all of gen chem (only read through the study notes and did not watch the videos or extra problems), 4 days for physics (watched all videos and study notes) as well as did 4 gen chem practice exams and 1 physics practice exam (would’ve taken more but I only had time to take only one)

Week 2: This week was all Bio. I watched all the videos first and read all the sections except Chapter 2 (Diversity of Life). This chapter was super long and so I decided to only read the cheat sheets (super helpful) and learn more as I took more practice exams. The taxonomy, cellular respiration, and photosynthesis videos were extremely helpful in learning just enough for the exam and not spending too much time on these topics. Took around 4 bio practice exams this week.

Week 3: The week that I dreaded. Orgo. Organic was definitely my worse subject in college but the videos for this section are honestly all you need. I didn’t use the study notes but rather just screenshotted the video slides so that I can make my own notes with them. Took around 4 practice exams this week as well.