O.D. lifestyle

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

nbwkobe8

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all, I am an undergraduate pre-med who is having serious doubts about going to med school and becoming a physician. The reason I am unsure is because I cannot imagine myself enduring the lifestyle of a MS/intern/resident (80 hr. weeks, sleep deprivation, constant on-call). I mean I am already starting to strongly dislike the short time I spend volunteering in a hospital (I can't see myself working with terminally ill, smelly, rude patients every day for my whole life).

Recently I have been considering going to Optometry School and becoming an optometrist. I figure being an O.D. allows for a lifestyle where I can be with my future wife and kids much more, as well as not put up with as much bull**** as MD's do. I am OK with not earning as much money as a M.D. (especially since med students don't start making money until their resident years).

I also have very poor vision (-9.5), wear contacts, and am at high risk for retinal detachment; so I feel as if I am personally invested in the science of the eye. I also can see myself getting much satisfaction from restoring patients' eyesight.

My main questions are: What is the lifestyle of an O.D. like? What are typical hours like? What is the job environment like? Is the job intellectually stimulating?

Any other feedback as well would be much appreciated.

Thanks in advance,
Chris

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
My main questions are: What is the lifestyle of an O.D. like? What are typical hours like? What is the job environment like? Is the job intellectually stimulating?

Any other feedback as well would be much appreciated.

Thanks in advance,
Chris

Only one of those four questions related to the actual practice of optometry itself. As such, it seems like you're not particularly familiar with the field.