This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

AllyCAT13

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
A little background: I'm currently a nursing student in an accelerated bachelors program (11.5 months, BS-to-BSN). I have a previous degree in Human Development. I went into nursing because I love direct patient care and I find it hugely fulfilling to make a direct impact in the lives' of others. I'm excited to get into the field of nursing (I'm interested in cardiology and critical care), but I have always known that I plan to further my education after receiving my BSN degree. My plan originally was to work as an RN for about 3 years (preferably in critical care), then start working toward a DNP degree.

However, I have lately been considering Med School as another option. Working in healthcare, I have seen that the role of an NP (at least in the setting where I work) focuses mainly on patient education and placing orders when the physicians are too busy with procedures or seeing patients, and they do not get to do very much in the realm of interventional or direct patient care. While they are an integral piece of a care team, I no longer think that the role of an NP is exactly what I am looking for. The autonomy, knowledge, and specialized background that is obtained through medical training appeals to me more.

I know I would still have a long road if I did pursue medicine, as I would have to take all of the prerequisites (as for nursing I only needed 1 semester of each science course as opposed to 2 semesters).

Could I be a competitive applicant in the future for medical school? My GPA is around a 3.6, and I have plenty of healthcare experience (soon to be plenty more when I become a nurse). Realistically I would be about 28-29 before I would be able to apply, is that typical? Any thoughts or general advice? Anyone who has done the RN-MD/DO route able to weigh in?

Members don't see this ad.

Reactions: 1 users