Normal Week and Course of Treatment

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

soccerusa

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

I am a med student and I had two somewhat related questions for those in practice.

1) What is your normal week like? I realize this is different for everyone, but I am particularly interested in things like: how many new patients versus continuing patients do you see each week? How many patients do you see in a day or week? How long are you able to spend with each patient? If you are in academics, how much of your time do you spend on research and/or teaching?

2) What is the "normal" course of treatment for a patient (I realize this is highly variable based on disease specifics, but I am still interested in whatever generalities of examples can be thrown out)? As in, from the time a PCP refers them to you, how long does it take to be seen? What is the first appointment like? If they end up going on chemo, how frequently do you see them while on treatment? How long between the first visit and the beginning of chemo or referal to surg/rad oncs?

Thanks for your time!

Members don't see this ad.

Hello,

I am a med student and I had two somewhat related questions for those in practice.

1) What is your normal week like? I realize this is different for everyone, but I am particularly interested in things like: how many new patients versus continuing patients do you see each week? How many patients do you see in a day or week? How long are you able to spend with each patient? If you are in academics, how much of your time do you spend on research and/or teaching?
Every physician and every practice will be different. I see 15-20 patients a day. 2 or 3 of them are new (they get an hour), the rest are follow-ups (they get 15 minutes on paper, but I spend whatever amount of time I need to with them...some take 5 minutes, some take 50).