Non-trad student looking for input

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

LumberjackDK

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I know this question gets asked all the time, so I'm sorry for the redundancy/length of this post. I know there are many threads on this topic, but I couldn't find one that recent.

I'm a 25 year old (white) male. Graduated with a B.S. in psych with premed prereqs (sans Biochem) in 2012. cGPA 2.7, sGPA 2.1, no MCAT yet

I ****ed around too much in undergrad and paid for it. No one knows this better than I do, so no need to remind me. I also know that my chances of getting into a structured PB program are slim with that GPA, and even that isn't a guarantee of success.

Currently I'm a paramedic (Also, would that count as patient contact hours or would I also need to volunteer somewhere?). I have plenty former coworkers that have gone on to nursing or PA school. However, I have always had a desire to be a physician. My grades turned me off of that a bit, but recently my passion has been rekindled due to a personal loss, and I'm willing to take whatever steps necessary to fulfill that dream.

I've been reading tons of forums on SDN, talking to friends in and out of med school, and I think I've figured out a course of action. I would like some input:

1. Re-take my C grade prereqs as per AACOMAS grade replacement policy. Looking at 1-2 years of classes.
  2. Apply/get into a structured post-bac or SMP program
  3. Study hard for/destroy the MCAT
  4. Apply to DO schools
Anyone have any thoughts or changes to this? One possible difference I am considering is taking upper level sciences (Biochem, Genetics, etc) instead of grade replacement. But that would still leave me with a horrendous GPA applying to PB/SMP or DO schools.

I understand that this is a long, expensive process, but this is truly my passion and I wouldn't feel fulfilled if I didn't pursue it.

Thanks again for the advice!