Non APA-Accredited Programs

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

AspenE

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
I'm in the process of applying to a few non APA-accredited programs in California and would like to solicit some advice/input from students or graduates of programs that are not APA-accredited. I'm not so much interested in a debate on the merits of APA accreditation (I've already read several such discussions), but rather, what the experience is like for students of non APA-accredited programs, both while in school and post-graduation as practitioners.

For my part, the two programs I am most interested in are not APA-accredited. My end goal in attending grad school is to open a private practice. As such, I'm not particularly interested in accreditation for the purpose of working at the VA or other agencies. I'm also a working professional and already have a graduate degree in another field. The programs that I'm most interested in are particularly appealing due to their orientation towards older/working professionals and the fact that I could pursue my degree without too much interference in my work and family life. Given that my goal is to go into private practice, these programs seem to be the path of least resistance in terms of obtaining a degree and licensure.

I've met and spoken to a few graduates of these programs who have good reputations and successful private practices, but I would love to hear from students/practitioners on here about their experiences and reflections (good and bad).

Members don't see this ad.

Just FYI

As of 2017, only students of APA accredited doctoral programs can participate in the APPIC internship match. That will draw a bright line between accredited and non-accredited doctoral programs.