new to this place!

This forum made possible through the generous support of
SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

silverandblack

7+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey! I'm new to this forum and I have a bunch of questions about studying optometry! Firstly, I would like to ask what your opinions are on when it is truly too late to apply to an optometry school. Is it possible to really put a date on it? I am writing the OAT in February, and I am hoping to complete all of my applications this week... have I drastically decreased my chances of being admitted?

Members don't see this ad.

more info about what you've done, and where you plan on applying. it is hard to put a date on it, since it varies with each school.

Hey! Thanx for the response! I have a degree from UofAlberta in Microbiology (that's why I emailed you thinking that I might have known you). Now I'm at McMaster University doing a second degree in Health Studies... ummm... what else can I say... I've done a buncha research ... volunteer work... stuff like that... I play varsity football here at MAC... I'm not really sure if that's the sort of info you're asking about. My grades are relatively good (in my opinion); I think I'm around the average GPA accepted last year for a lot of the schools. I'm applying to ICO, Boston, Penn, SCCO and SUNY! I've been studying quite a bit for the OAT... I wrote the MCAT about 400 years ago, and it went very well, so hopefully I'll be able to say the same about this exam. I'm 27 years old and I have no idea what these schools think of more mature(ish) students like me.

Anyways, any info, advice or comforting words that could be given would be appreciated!

Thanx!
:)

Members don't see this ad :)
Originally posted by silverandblack