New grad - first job

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Petsfurever

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Original post removed - thank you for responses! Hopeful that everything improves and using your tips!

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
I am a 2020 grad and started working as a GP. I was promised mentoring, but instead I am handling many cases a day on my own. Is this typical? I am exhausted and so stressed with no support. Definitely not what I expected starting out.
Are you doing mostly wellness cases or sick? But yes you are expected to be handling your own cases— is another doctor on with you you can ask questions of? 5 minute vet consult is a great resource. So is VIN if you have a membership but responses are within 48 hours. Does your clinic have vaccine protocols? Work up protocols? Probably worth the time to write out some of your own so you don’t have to think it through each time.

VIN has a good” getting through the day/night course “ I think is free or cheap. Not sure if you need to be a member

Ie. Ears—cytology, if young include mineral oil scrape to look for mites, treat based on organism seen. If chronic consider food trial etc.

Ie vomiting—work up options— radiographs, baseline bloodwork. If your prioritize rads if old or chronic prioritize bloodwork. Other more specialized testing cortisol/ACTH stim. Consider ultrasound, scope if chronic. Etc. vs symptomatic care and recheck for diagnostics if not improving

also useful to inventory the pharmacy so you know what treatment options you have

depending on the tech situation may be able to ask what does dr owner like for X?

Also probably worth having a sit down with your boss/ other associates. Would having a set time for questions/ rounds help? Ie 10 minutes at lunch?

remember you know what to do with 80%of cases or at least where to start. Don’t have to fix everything in an appointment.

feel free to PM me