Neuro/IM combined residency

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

GiantGiantsFan

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi,

I'm a third year just starting my clinical rotations. Right now I'm doing an outpatient adult medicine rotation, and I really like it. However, I am also very interested in the brain; I majored in Neuroscience in college and have done some brain research. I'm wondering, is there any reason for doing an IM/neuro combined residency beyond being unable to choose between the two fields? Is your patient care enhanced by knowledge of the two fields, or are you basically splitting time between the two fields, and as a result being less effective in each of them? Would appreciate some thoughts on this. Thanks!

Members don't see this ad.

Hi! I'm interested in that myself...because I think the IM training is really important. If I do decide to practice as a neurologist, I want to be able to handle hospital acquired pneumonia, DM, etc. I'm a little scared that one year of internship won't be enough, but from the grapevine I hear the neuro programs try to be holistic anyway. Plus there aren't really a lot of combined programs like that out there so I'm thinking they will be very competitive. Goodluck to you!

Hi! I'm interested in that myself...because I think the IM training is really important. If I do decide to practice as a neurologist, I want to be able to handle hospital acquired pneumonia, DM, etc. I'm a little scared that one year of internship won't be enough, but from the grapevine I hear the neuro programs try to be holistic anyway. Plus there aren't really a lot of combined programs like that out there so I'm thinking they will be very competitive. Goodluck to you!