Need Help Deciding If I Should Re-write a Decent/Strong MCAT Score for US and Canadian schools

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

striders02

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm a 3rd year Canadian undergrad student with an MCAT score of 131/127/131/128 (517 total). My GPA is ~3.98, I have strong non-clinical ECs and clinical research experience, but very little 'patient exposure' ECs (shadowing, volunteering in a clinical setting, etc.- will definitely work on that before applying to US).

My 127 CARS shuts some doors in Canada so I'm considering re-writing. However, I'm concerned that re-writing will harm my chances at US med schools, as I've heard that US schools in general don't look favorably on re-writing without substantial improvement (I know that some US schools state on their website that they look at the most recent or highest MCAT, but I've seen others recommend interpreting those statements cautiously). I don't think I will be able to 'substantially improve'; realistically, my goal is to get a similar overall score with just a couple points higher in CARS.

I believe I could submit a Canadian application this upcoming cycle because Canada does not frown upon re-applicants so the potential of getting rejected this cycle is not a deterrent. However, I would need an additional year to get my US application prepared.

Should I re-write the MCAT - bolstering my Canadian application if CARS improves (even if total score decreases) but potentially harming my US app - or just apply with my current MCAT score (in the 2017/18 cycle for Canada and in the 2018/19 cycle for US and Canada)?

This 're-write' question has been eating away at me so any help would be greatly appreciated! Thanks so much and happy holidays!

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Members don't see this ad :)