NBDE Part 1: How long should you study for?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

xaznxcountx

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys! Looked around for the answer to this question, but didn't find much...

For those of you who took NBDE Part 1 and passed, how long did you study for?

Specifically, how many hours a day? How many days per week? How many months? I won't be taking it for a while but wanted to get a heads up for my preparation. Thanks SDN!

Members don't see this ad.

I studied for about 7 days, 12 hours each day. I felt pretty comfortable with the material

Studied about 4 months, the hours a day varies...I gave myself goals per day such as: reading these chapters in First Aid or getting through a particular number of sections in dental decks.

If you have good material and a focused mindset, studying isn't going to be bad at all...

Members don't see this ad :)
Use decks and old tests.

I went over the decks during the school year as I went over each subject. After that, I spent about 2 weeks doing old tests and took it. You got this! If you have any questions, feel free to contact me.

Sent from my SPH-D710 using Tapatalk 2 Beta-5

Reactions: 1 user
Hi I think you shoudl to study 6 months for part1, and take KAPLAN program. It helps!!!!!!!

Word on the street is two to three weeks of hardcore studying since the exam is now pass/fail.