My OAT Experience

catsomgcats

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
What I studied:

Bought the big blue Kaplan book (now selling). Watched one month of Chad's videos. Bought the OAT Achiever.

I studied the material for just over a month and spent the next 3 weeks doing practice exams, trying to master the problems. By the end of my last week, I could do the OAT Achiever tests like a boss (despite that I kind of knew the answers already but I learned how to work all the problems)

Test Day: had a good nights sleep, woke up super early. Testing center is over an hour drive from my house so I left early in case there was traffic/accident. I got there 2 hours early lol... They let me start right away.

They put me in this room full of computers and other students taking all types of tests. There's cameras EVERYWHERE!!!

Let me just put it out there that I felt like I was 100% ready for this exam. I kept myself calm the whole 2 weeks before because I convinced myself that if I dont get the score I want, it's not the end of the world and I can retake it. I continued to tell myself that because I needed to be calm. I didnt want to be nervous because that's when mistakes happen.

So the exam was hard for me. It was actually extremely difficult for me. I didn't feel like there was any one section that was easy. The time flew by for every section and it was crazy. It didn't even feel like 4ish hours.

BIOL: I think I marked every second question... it was a scatter of everything and anything. So many random questions I have never seen. There were a couple easy questions. I think I had 1 question here about enzymes lowering the activation energy and almost the identical questions in GCHEM.

GCHEM: one of my favorite topics. HARD. It had everything again. But Chad's quizzes prepare you really well for this section. I did better than I thought.