my first medic shift, help me help my medic!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

fiznat

20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Well I looked at the schedule this week and I finally picked up a medic shift of my very own. I'm an EMT-B with about 1.5 years of experience, pretty much none of that has been on ALS shifts with medics. I've done probably about 5 of these shifts while I was precepting, but back then I hardly knew anything so I didnt really pick up much info.

Anyways so I have this shift this week. Anybody here have any advice on what I can do to best help my medic partner? I understand that I'm pretty much his EMT-B!tch/secretary helper but I'd still like to do the best I can at it because I want to keep this shift (ALS gets way better calls as we all know). I know how to spike bags and set up IVs, get his glucometer running and whatnot... also I understand all about driving nicely so that he doesnt bounce all over the place with the 8 gauge in his hand... but beyond that, anything that I should know specifically? Just a few quick things that might make me look a little better than another EMT-B monkey would definetly be a help.

Thanks guys!

Members don't see this ad.

Medics are all different in what they'll let EMT-B's do...some may have you spike lines, hook the pt up on the monitor, handle the paperwork and do vitals, etc.... Others won't let you touch the monitor. The first time I work with a medic, I kinda feel out what he will/won't let me do. Sometimes they'll come right out and ask how much I'm comfortable doing, which also works for me. Most medics in my area will let you do quite a bit (esp. w/ full arrests....where's the epi ;) ???)

anyway, gl. I have a lot of fun working on a medic/basic truck

raDiOnut

My EMT is expected to do the following, usually in this order:

-vital signs, pulse ox
-apply 02 if needed
-3-lead EKG & print me a strip
-prepare IV supplies, spike bag