My Chances of Getting into a Top Med School

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Geonsur

Geonsur
10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi. Here's my story:

In high school, I was involved in every extracurricular activity known to man, president of NHS, 4.0, 31 on the ACT. I had the credentials to go to a well-regarded, private school, but I chose to go to a tiny, public college near my hometown on a full scholarship because I couldn't afford my dream school - Rice University.

Now, I'm in my second semester of college. I got a 4.0 last semester while taking chemistry and physics, a bright review from my chemistry professor, am applying for a top research slot at a nearby hospital, and am joining tons of honor societies. I am already prepping for the Verbal Reasoning section of the MCAT since I read that it is the toughest.

Let's just say that I do graduate with a 4.0, my MCAT studies pay off, and I score in the high 30's. Will the fact that I chose to attend a small, public university instead of a renowned research college hurt my chances of getting into a top medical school, which has been my dream for a good few years? Regards.

Members don't see this ad.

Hi. Here's my story:

In high school, I was involved in every extracurricular activity known to man, president of NHS, 4.0, 31 on the ACT. I had the credentials to go to a well-regarded, private school, but I chose to go to a tiny, public college near my hometown on a full scholarship because I couldn't afford my dream school - Rice University.

Now, I'm in my second semester of college. I got a 4.0 last semester while taking chemistry and physics, a bright review from my chemistry professor, am applying for a top research slot at a nearby hospital, and am joining tons of honor societies. I am already prepping for the Verbal Reasoning section of the MCAT since I read that it is the toughest.