Musc

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

usmleed

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
hi guys, does anybody have any info on MUSC gas prog? cant find much info on scutwork.
any thoughts? +pad+

Members don't see this ad.

maybe if you start a new thread a few hours from now someone might reply. Seriously, one thread on a topic a day is enough.

Members don't see this ad :)
I am a medical student who did an away rotation at MUSC recently. I had a lot of high hopes for this program because I had heard it was in Charleston but after rotating there, I don't think it is the place for me. First of all, the residents told me that they recently lost their Chairman and their residency program director left. No one could tell me exactly why the chairman was asked to step down and it sounded like the director went into private practice because he wasn't happy there. So now they have an interum chair and director and it didn't seem like alot of progress had been made as to finding a chair. I guess they are also up for residency review by some committee that accredidates residencies and many of the residents seemed to be a little worried about whether or not the program would be put on probation. I am not sure exactly how you get put on probabation but more than 3 residents had told me they were a little worried. All of this made me a little nervous about the future of this program. Second, a majority of the residents seemed unhappy with the new changes that had been made with the departure of the chairman and residency director. The residents are now required to do a research project to complete their residency. Some people said it was a case presentation and others said it was a 15-20 page paper. Some people might be into research but I am not (especially required). Third, the lack of teaching in the OR. I was really surprised by the way attendings were hardly around during most case