MA/MS MPS and other options. Help!

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Hopefully Psyched

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi guys!

I’m currently an undergrad and am planning on continuing my education to hopefully become a clinical child psychologist one day. With that being said I need some help.

I am trying to decide which masters program would be the best preparation for continuing to a PhD after I graduate. I was just offered an interview at Maryland for their MPS program but I’m concerned about the degree. I don’t know a whole lot about the MPS degree and I want to make sure it will adequately prepare me for further studies.

Here are my options just FYI:
Maryland MPS: offered interview but trying to decide if I want to accept or deny. Not sure about the MPS degree.
Eastern Michigan MS General Clinical: interviewed should here back soon. I really liked the program but don’t have an answer yet.
Western Kentucky MA Clinical: accepted. Doesn’t seem like an awful option but not sure if it’s the best either. Nice faculty, but maybe too laid back?
Villanova MS: waitlisted. Visiting campus next week. Seems to be a good program in preparing for PhD.

Members don't see this ad.

Hi guys!

I’m currently an undergrad and am planning on continuing my education to hopefully become a clinical child psychologist one day. With that being said I need some help.

I am trying to decide which masters program would be the best preparation for continuing to a PhD after I graduate. I was just offered an interview at Maryland for their MPS program but I’m concerned about the degree. I don’t know a whole lot about the MPS degree and I want to make sure it will adequately prepare me for further studies.

Here are my options just FYI:
Maryland MPS: offered interview but trying to decide if I want to accept or deny. Not sure about the MPS degree.