This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

renaissanceelaine

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello all. I'm new here. Forgive me if I say something stupid.

So I am applying to MPH programs in the US (US citizen) and I have noticed a lot of schools, such as University of Michigan, have rolling deadlines after a priority deadline (often December 15 is priority, and March 1st is final).

I am a pre-med student who decided very late in the game (around August 2017) that I would be applying to Fall 2018 MPH programs, so rushing to prepare for take the GRE and get application materials in line, on top of a full class load, finals, working, and volunteering, I was barely prepared to submit a good personal statement and app to schools with a December 15 priority deadline. So I decided to take the time during December to work on a good statement, and I am looking to submit my SOPHAS apps by next week (early January 2018). I know SOPHAS takes a month to verify, which doesn't help my nerves.

As searching the internet goes, I have begun to panic seeing that a lot of folks have submitted super early. Is January submission, with a rolling admission due March 1st, way too late? Are my chances hurt? I know the sooner the better, but how soon? At this point, I can't do much besides submit ASAP, next week, but I just want to know if I should freak out.

Members don't see this ad.

I'm not sure who said the sooner the better for applying to grad school. The worst thing you can do is rush your applications in and have an overall sloppy application. You already missed the priority deadline and the regular deadline is not till March 1. What's your hurry?

Reactions: 1 user
Hello all. I'm new here. Forgive me if I say something stupid.