Moving to Texas- effect on AMCAS/ TMDAS Submission?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Jack-Kennedy35

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys,

So, I graduated from UCLA in 2019 and have been in California for the vast majority of my life. However, my significant other is moving to Dallas for a new job and so we are planning on buying an apartment and moving together.

I haven’t yet applied to medical school, but will be doing so next year (2023). According to Texas guidelines, I need to live in Texas for 12 months to be considered a resident. Accordingly, we are planning to move in the 2nd week of July, so that would mean I would be a TX resident come next July.

My plan was to always submit AMCAS in June next year, at which point I would still be a California applicant. Is there any issue with me potentially waiting until July to submit TMDAS, at which point I’d be considered a Texas applicant? @gonnif @Goro @gonnif @Catalystik
@wysdoc
@KnightDoc
@LizzyM

Thanks

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
Hey guys,

So, I graduated from UCLA in 2019 and have been in California for the vast majority of my life. However, my significant other is moving to Dallas for a new job and so we are planning on buying an apartment and moving together.

I haven’t yet applied to medical school, but will be doing so next year (2023). According to Texas guidelines, I need to live in Texas for 12 months to be considered a resident. Accordingly, we are planning to move in the 2nd week of July, so that would mean I would be a TX resident come next July.

My plan was to always submit AMCAS in June next year, at which point I would still be a California applicant. Is there any issue with me potentially waiting until July to submit TMDAS, at which point I’d be considered a Texas applicant? @gonnif @Goro @gonnif @Catalystik
@wysdoc
@KnightDoc
@LizzyM

Thanks