Most recognised degree

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

medicuk

5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi

I am a student from the Uk doing a degree next year in London.

I would greatly appreciate if you would tell me which of these degrees would be the most recognised in the US?

which uni is most recognised out of University College London, Kings College London (Guy's King's & St. Thomas), or Imperial College?

Thankyou

Members don't see this ad.

medicuk said:
Hi

I would greatly appreciate if you would tell me which of these degrees would be the most recognised in the US?

which uni is most recognised out of University College London, Kings College London (Guy's King's & St. Thomas), or Imperial College?

Thankyou

If you are interested in getting a US residency then you need to make sure the school is ECFMG certified. If they are this will allow you to take the USMLE and later obtain a residency. www.ecfmg.org should provide you with most of the information that you need.

All of the schools you mention are very well regarded, both in the UK and the US. And all of them are fully accredited in the US and ECFMG certified, so you really can't go wrong with any of them.
There's quite a few from Guy's and St. Thomas on the Harvard faculty, for instance.

Personally, my ranking (both from a UK and a US perspective) would be:
1. Imperial (probably one of the best in the world in basic sciences)
2. Kings
3. Univ Coll

Members don't see this ad :)
medicuk said:
Hi

Thankyou

jgl1980 said:
If you are interested in getting a US residency then you need to make sure the school is ECFMG certified. If they are this will allow you to take the USMLE and later obtain a residency. www.ecfmg.org should provide you with most of the information that you need.

:) :) :)

(I know jgl1980 was just being helplful and that's very cool but it's still kinda funny)

brightblueeyes said:
:) :) :)