Moonlighting as PGY-1?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

thesauce

15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Can this be done?

I have heard of people doing this, but I don't see how it's possible without medical licensure and you can't get that until you have a year of PGY training under your belt.

Members don't see this ad.

There are some programs who offer internal moonlighting opportunities, usually cross-cover or overflow admits that allow PGY1s. They usually pay pretty poorly but some is better than none. We used to have 2 such programs at my institution but they've gone away and all of the moonlighting here requires a full license. I think these programs are pretty much disappearing.

I was actually offered to work with an attending that I worked with earlier as a moonlighter. When I made it clear to him that I do not have a license as a PGY-1, he said as long as I'm working within the hospital that I'm a resident at, it is okay and that he would pay me by providing education material instead of checks. I still turned it down because it seemed a little too shady for me.

Members don't see this ad :)
At our program, we have an "unreferred" saturday each month in which we usually get slammed, so an intern gets 100 bucks just to put their name down as the backup intern and, if they come in, $100 for each admission.

You need a license to moonlight and most states are moving away from allowing PGY 1's to have a license. Even New Jersey the most screwed up state in the country now makes you wait until the begining of your PGY 3 year to apply for a license. T

Can this be done?

I have heard of people doing this, but I don't see how it's possible without medical licensure and you can't get that until you have a year of PGY training under your belt.