Resigned from PGY-1

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.
Status
Not open for further replies.

resilient resident

Reaction score
I want to share my residency resignation story. I am an IMG and did not match last year. But while I was doing a rotation in an hospital i came know that there is an open spot in PGY-1 and i got the job after several interviews. It was during august and I joined at the middle of august. I filled the spot the spot of a resident who did not got visa and was stuck in his country. I got my medical license at late september . As I was filling other residents spots I was in vacation while i got the license. For info, I graduated in 2013 and it was kinda a long gap since I was in clinical medicine. From the joining till i got my license i was shadowing and did not do anything basically . I did not had ANY ORIENTATION program in the meantime. After i got my license my rotation was ICU and it was challenging for me. My attending gave me very bad eval. My senior was not that supportive as well. In the mean time my senior was not coming for job and one of ICU nurse told me that they saw the resident at ED really really sick . I did the dumbest thing in life- i looked at his chart. But it was only for 15-16 sec. I basicaly did not know what happened to him. My PD was really nice person and she knew that it was by mistake and i did not share the information with anyone. She forgave me. At November i got a letter from CCE meeting stating that some of my performances was not upto the expectation and they placed me into a remediation program. All my senior kind of knew that I was in a remediation program and i had some bad senior who bullied me. But did not speak up against them cause i was scared that they will think that I am complaining. In the meantime, i did a pap smear in one of my patient where no one was there and one of the nurse said that i requested her to say that she was with