MD MIT grad 3.57/Sc 3.40, MCATx3, [advice on applications]

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

L33TFR33K

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys,

I'm a recent grad from MIT, engineering major AMCAS 3.6, sci 3.4 (only took requirements).

My one hiccup has been that I took the MCAT 3 times to try improving my verbal, but ended up scoring lower

I'm currently verified and in the process of writing up some secondaries. I've so far selected 34 schools just to apply across the board (money is no issue). Top tier & mid tiers.

How do you think of my chances, due to the verbal score? Can anyone provide more advice regarding any potential screening out due to verbal?

Should I discuss anything at all about the verbal score in the secondaries?

Members don't see this ad.

Last edited:
You may want to shift your app emphasis away from the top tier and much more towards the middle, considering how compared to the ranges for top schools you have a very low cGPA, very low sGPA, repeated very low MCAT without improvement, and very low verbal...do you have a school list to work with to get an idea what your chances are?

Reactions: 1 users
1. Have you volunteered at all?

2. If your MCAT was higher (36/518), I would be telling you to apply anywhere your heart desires (provided you've volunteered), but as it stands, your three nearly identical MCATs are going to hurt you. As efle said, you need to shift your focus down a bit.

Members don't see this ad :)
Yep, my volunteer work consists of my EMT experience.

I won't sugarcoat it re-taking the MCAT three times and seeing your verbal drop like that is a pretty big red flag. The 9 was fine......a 6 and 7 are problems however. The fact that you are at the level of a 6-7 and can't seem to get back to a 9 is a very bad thing. And to start with your MCAT score was fine, retaking that was not good judgement.