Military dentist living conditions?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

FaithBuild18

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone, I only recently learned about the HPSP program. Being a pre-dental student and having a desire to serve my country I feel this is right up my alley in allowing me to do both.

But I plan on getting married shortly after graduation, and my only question regarding this program is what will it be like for my family (new wife and maybe a child) during the 4 years that I spend in service?

I honestly don't know much about how the military in general works, but do you permanently live on a base somewhere in the States and then periodically get deployed overseas, or do you basically always live overseas? Will I get to see my new family at all during those 4 years? Where do wives and children of military personnel typically live? Anywhere in America, or near a base?

If I'm a dentist deployed overseas, where do I go to work and where do I go when I'm done with work? Are there medical buildings there and houses that you'd live in? Or is it just a bunch of tents? Please excuse my ignorance, as I've said I know nothing.

Members don't see this ad.

If someone has some more direct answers to this question, by all means, post a response but krmower's blog will give you a great idea of what being an Army dentist is all about. He has some really great posts about his activities, some of which are directly related to your questions. Just google "Kendall Mower army blog" and the first link will take you right to it.

Hey everyone, I only recently learned about the HPSP program. Being a pre-dental student and having a desire to serve my country I feel this is right up my alley in allowing me to do both.