Program-Specific Info / Q's Might not get into OT school as planned? Need help figuring out plan B

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

spidermanOT

Reaction score
Hi guys,
I’ve been trying to apply for the OTD program for years now (due to Covid, I took a while to get shadowing hours) but this year I managed to get them and applied for school. I applied for Nova Southeastern here in Florida however, the admissions counselor sent me an email stating that I was missing a preq (I got a C- in physics) so they are not considering that requirement filled. I graduated university with my Bachelor’s degree in Health Science 3 years ago so it’s not like I can retake the course.

I see no point in trying to actively get into OT school anymore (application has already been submitted I can’t really do anything about that) and I don’t think I want to go the COTA route. If you were in my situation, what other avenues would you explore?

Members don't see this ad.

I would recommend taking the class again at your local community college. It’ll probably only cost around $300 and you can knock it out in 8 weeks or a semester at most. in my opinion, it would definitely be worth applying again next cycle. i know how difficult it can be to prepare to apply, I took a few years in between undergrad and applying as well. it took me 3 years to finish my prereqs, get my shadowing hours, and ask my old professors for letters of recommendation. but i felt like i tried so hard to be an OT that i couldn’t just give up. maybe you feel the same way, or maybe you’ve realized you don’t really want to be an OT. but if you’ve come this close and all you’re needing is one more class, i say try again.. or maybe ably last minute to a school that’s still accepting this cycle? I think St. Augustine in Florida has several application cycles a year, and I don’t think physics is a requirement for them

Reactions: 1 users