MD, PhD, or both??

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

mdorphd

10+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
I just graduated with a major in Biomedical Engineering from an ivy league school. I decided to work for two years in a lab to try and clear my head and decide what to do. I am very interested in medicine as well as clinically-based research. My GPA in college isn't very good (3.27), but it's my science GPA that kills me (below 3). Ironically, my major GPA is a 3.6, so the bioengineering classes really pulled me up. I haven't taken any standardized tests yet, but am thinking of taking the MCAT (and maybe the GRE) in April. I have a lot of research experience (worked in a lab during all of college, 2 summers, and now this lab), have given 2 podium presentations at conferences as well as poster presentations, and have publications (1st author on 1) as well as papers I will be submitting soon.

My ideal career would be one where I saw patients and then did research based on what I saw in my patients (although I've heard this is hard to do). So my decision is: which degree(s) should I go for??? :confused: Do I have any chance of getting into a good MD/PhD program? What do people with a MD/PhD normally go into?

Any advice would be GREATLY appreciated! Thanks so much! :)

Members don't see this ad.

mdorphd said: