MD/MBA prereqs?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

wanker

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, I'm an undergrad senior considering a lot of options within medicine, but one day i plan on owning my own practice, then perhaps getting into hospital administration or something along those lines later in life. I've only really started thinking about the busines side of things lately. The relsult of that is I have taken crazy amounts of science courses, but little to no college level business classes. Are MD/MBA combined programs a little more lenient on prereqs than a straight MBA, or are you still expected to have around 30hrs of business classes?
any input would be appreciated
thanks

Members don't see this ad.

wanker said:
Hi, I'm an undergrad senior considering a lot of options within medicine, but one day i plan on owning my own practice, then perhaps getting into hospital administration or something along those lines later in life. I've only really started thinking about the busines side of things lately. The relsult of that is I have taken crazy amounts of science courses, but little to no college level business classes. Are MD/MBA combined programs a little more lenient on prereqs than a straight MBA, or are you still expected to have around 30hrs of business classes?
any input would be appreciated
thanks

they definitely are more lenient. Don't worry about the pre-reqs. Med school is by far the harder school to get into. At this point, enjoy your last few months of undergrad, get an internship if you want to do something business related and get ready for the ride they call med school :eek: