Master's Degree while in Medical School

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MO232

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello,

I haven't seen this posted anywhere, so I was curious if anyone had any experience. I am a current medical student, and I was wondering if anyone knew of a Master's Degree where a majority of already taken medical school courses would count towards the completion of said degree. If so, what degree and what school offers it?

Members don't see this ad.

Any masters degree that's worth anything will be in things that add value to you as a physician. This by definition will mean that they have NO or MINIMAL overlap with medical school curricula. A masters degree that already contain components of your medical education is absolutely worthless and is a complete waste of time.

This is different than taking a gap year to do an MPH or MBA but those likely have zero to minimal overlap in your coursework. Not to mention you actually need time to study for them. If you were thinking about doing them simultaneously with your medical course work that's just a recipe for disaster.

Reactions: 6 users
If so, what degree and what school offers it?
Are you asking about getting a Master's just for the sake of it? What Master's are you interested in getting and why?

Reactions: 1 user
Members don't see this ad :)
a Master's Degree where a majority of already taken medical school courses would count towards the completion of said degree.

These kinds of masters degrees are for the other way around.... my school has one but it's for people who they aren't sure will make it through the medical school curriculum so they admit them to the masters and then if they have above a certain GPA they start the medical curriculum and their masters classes count towards that.