Many ortho questions, - please advise

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

DOindahouse

20+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey all, ive got alot of questions and concerns just flowing thru my head and im hoping for some real good feedback. Ok so basically i want to be an ortho, real bad, i cant even decide on a back up plan cuz i just dont like anything.

anyways, Im a 3rd yr DO student at the SOcal school. My comlex was a 565/77 and my usmle was pitiful, i passed but thats all i did, one more question wrong and i woundnt have. Ive been told my comlex is pretty good, iknw its not the best tho.

Ok so question 1, are there any MD spots that will take comlex only for ortho, and if so which ones .

secondly, ofcourse i am planning on applyin to all the DO ortho spots. SO far ive set up places in Michigan in june, st louis in august, chicago and cleveland following. So that will be 4 ortho rotations out of my first 5 4th yr rotations. In july im gettin hitched so i cant do one then . DO u guys think thats enuf ortho rotations to do. I have some set up in november too but that would make it 5 and possible after interviews in some places.

ok also, comlex 2, when should i take it, right now, i would like to do in january, cuz august is gonna be so busy, im gonna be freshly married and possibly on an away rotation. Ive heard from a few of the ortho spots that comlex 2 is not needed for interviews. but i kow if idid take it, and i got higher it would be good. My fear is that if i took i t in augsut, i wouldnt do better thant comlex 1, i am a ****ty test taker, godforbid i fail it. any opinions.

i konw this is alot of stuff i just put out there, but please if someone has some sound advice, pleae holla at me, especially if u have been thru this get in touch, thanks

Members don't see this ad.