Management of acetaminophen toxicity

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

ckent

Membership Revoked
Removed
15+ Year Member
20+ Year Member
Reaction score
I have an ER related question regarding acetaminophen toxicity (I'm studying for step II). If a patient/child came in, and you knew the exact time that they took acetaminophen, would you wait until 4 hrs after before checking levels or drawing any labs? What if the patient was symptomatic? This was a question in q bank, and they are saying that you should just watch the patient for 4 hrs before drawing any labs because if you draw at any time prior to that, you risk getting falsely low levels. Also, why isn't there a knee jerk reaction to get N-acetylcysteine when you know that someone has taken a lot of acetaminophen? I know that it doesn't smell good and is difficult to ingest, but given the need for a timely administration, I don't see why they don't just administer this stuff prophylactically. It's not like it's bad for you or anything.

Members don't see this ad.

I'm no expert but this is what I gathered from my Toxicology rotation:
1. Do you wait 4 hours before getting a level? Yes.You always wait about 4hours before getting a level because before that time you will likely get a falsely lowered level which will not help you with the patient's further management. If you know that the kid ingested the pills right before they were brought in, then you should wait four hours before getting a level. If however the parents just found an empty bottle and you have no idea when the ingestion occured (which it what you will run into more often) then this 4 hour rule does not apply-you can go ahead and get a level but will need to keep cycling it(~q 4hours) until it stabilizes(but this kind of situation probably won't show up on Step II).
2. When do you give N-acetylcysteine?