Lower-tier GI fellowship competitiveness?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Master Thinker

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all, I am a 4th-year medical student applying IM this cycle. I know GI programs in general are very competitive but was wondering if "lower-tier" or community GI fellowships are much easier to match? And are there many of these programs? I don't really have strong location preferences.

I will most likely be attending a mid or upper-mid tier IM program. Step scores are good but my main concern is that my research is relatively weak.

Members don't see this ad.

Typically yes. Main thing for you for best chance of success in matching is being the best resident you can be. If there is an in-house GI fellowship at your residency that would be your best bet. Get to know the GI department well, get excellent letters of recommendation. Research is always a plus but really, everyone is gonna have some amount of research so you need to do at least something GI-related there.
I'm a cards fellow so can't comment on the number of programs. Keep an open mind during residency. You may or may not decide GI is for you or worth the extra 3 years of training.

Reactions: 1 users
Typically yes. Main thing for you for best chance of success in matching is being the best resident you can be. If there is an in-house GI fellowship at your residency that would be your best bet. Get to know the GI department well, get excellent letters of recommendation. Research is always a plus but really, everyone is gonna have some amount of research so you need to do at least something GI-related there.
I'm a cards fellow so can't comment on the number of programs. Keep an open mind during residency. You may or may not decide GI is for you or worth the extra 3 years of training.