Lower GPA, High MCAT, Caltech

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Trauma16

10+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey guys,
I'll be graduating from Caltech this June with a Biology major and English minor. Due to health issues, I had a bit of a rough time (including a D in quantum mechanics) and will be graduating with a 3.5. I recently took the MCAT, and got a 41O (15BS, 14PS, 12 VR). My top two schools right now (due to location, among other things) are UCSF and Columbia (I'm a CA resident).

As for my ECs, I played varsity baseball and water polo, was president of one of the on-campus houses, and have about a year of bio research and a summer of particle physics research. Caltech has a great shadowing program, so I have around 250 hours of shadowing experience.

I was just wondering if you guys had any idea of how competitive I would be at schools like these with the numbers I have (and whether the Caltech name has any effect).

Thanks in advance for any input!

Members don't see this ad.

A 3.5 is at the low end of competetive for most schools. Do NOT apply to high end schools like the Ivies or Stanford. I don't have a good handle on the UC system, but I have a hunch Irvine and Davis might be OK; UCSF and UCSD, not. USC might be worth a try.

You should be fine for some of the low-mid tier schools, and you're rock solid at any DO school, including mine, somewhere west of St Louis.

Hey guys,
I'll be graduating from Caltech this June with a Biology major and English minor. Due to health issues, I had a bit of a rough time (including a D in quantum mechanics) and will be graduating with a 3.5. I recently took the MCAT, and got a 41O (15BS, 14PS, 12 VR). My top two schools right now (due to location, among other things) are UCSF and Columbia (I'm a CA resident).