Low UGPA, High Post-Bacc GPA/MCAT - School List?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MDDO112

Reaction score
Hello everyone. I’m a 28 year old DIY post-bacc student in California finishing up my last few classes for transcript repair, and getting ready to apply in the 2019 cycle.

Background: I graduated from UCLA with a Physics/Math double major with a low 2.5 GPA (total ~90 units that count towards GPA; rest were P/NPs). Failed a few classes (one F, 2-3 NP’s, don’t remember exact #). After an engineering internship/building projects on my own, I decided I did not want to go into this line of work at all.

Post graduation, I decided I wanted to “test myself” in medical/clinical fields. Got my EMT cert, worked as an EMT for about a year while shadowing doctors and volunteering broadly. I loved every minute of it, and decided to do a DIY post-bacc in premed work.

I took my prerequisites at a Cal State (~1 year), took a biochem/other upper bio/chem/psych classes at UCLA extension (1 year), and took about 6 upper div bio classes at UC Berkeley Extension (1 year), for a total of 80-90 units over 3 years. I volunteered/continued to work as EMT part-time during my post-bacc. I got a 4.0 in my post-bacc work.

Personal Statement: Won’t go into much detail, but the gist of it is talking about how my undergrad work was a necessary failure in learning what wasn’t right for me, growing in self-confidence, overcoming it, and finding my passion for medical work the year after I graduated through EMT work/volunteering.

LoR: Average to above average I think. Can’t really say.

Stats:

2.5 UG cGPA, 2.6 UG sGPA (all math/physics classes).

4.0 Post Bacc cGPA/sGPA (all prereq/bio/chem/psych classes).

Combined:

3.2 cGPA, 3.44 sGPA.

520 MCAT.

EC’s:

~2000-3000 hours of EMT work.