Low Science GPA: Overcoming your dumb 18yr old choices

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

pinkpod

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi everyone,

I'm a nontraditional student who bombed my first year of college, pursued a double major in film and anthropology, and decided to pursue a career in podiatry after falling in love with human biology my senior year and shadowing a few podiatrists. I am now doing some post-bacc work to complete the rest of my prerequisites.

Anyway, I want to know how hard it's going to be to get in with my current science GPA. At the end of this semester I'm anticipating between a 2.83-2.86 which is what I'll be applying with. I got a C- in gen chem 1 (which I halfheartedly retook for a C+ before deciding on my career path) and a C- in calculus my first semester of freshman year. Both are really bringing down my science GPA. I have a handful of anthro classes that count as science classes (forensic, archaeology, and biological) that I got at/above a B in.

My recent coursework has been pretty respectable. A- in Gen Chem II. And on track for an A in Bio I, A- in physics lab, A/A- in Physics I, B+ in Ochem I. I'm really hoping my ****ty science GPA doesn't completely overshadow how well I've been doing in my recent science courses. My cumulative GPA is currently a 3.3, which will go up some before I apply. I also will have about 70hrs ER volunteering and 50ish hours of shadowing between two different podiatrists. And shockingly I got invited to the DMU summer preview this summer, so I know I'm on their radar.