Low GPA first semester....drop premed?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

hopefulmedschoolstudent

7+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi all,

I'm not coming here asking for pity. Also, please know that practically no one in my family has gone to college so I don't have much support or knowledge about this stuff in general.

Anyways, I just finished my first semester at a top public school, and my GPA isn't as high as I'd like it to be (still waiting for a few more final grades, but looking at around 3.3-3.4 cum for first sem). For science classes I took chem 101 and lab this sem. I ended up getting a B- in chem lecture, still waiting for lab grade, but I studied lots and I understood the material well - just froze up on the exam. I go to a school where hte +/- really kill GPA grading.

Anyways, next semester I'm registered for 3 science courses, and at this rate I don't know what I should do. Should I drop premed and pursue another career route? I'm just scared that at this pace my GPA will suffer even more.

Thanks for your help and advice ahead of time!

Members don't see this ad.

Since it's your first semester, it will be pretty easy to recover from a 3.3-3.4. Honestly, that's not that bad for adjusting to post-secondary.
I would take this as an opportunity to look at your studying habits, and find out what works and what doesn't. You ave ~7 semester left of undergrad, so you can definitely rescue your GPA and develop good studying skills.

My school offers mini-lecutres on how to do well on exams, as well as how to deal with exam anxiety. Maybe check if your school does, if not, there is tons of stuff online!
Don't make any big decisions just yet, if you really want to go into medicine, one 3.3 semester won't hold you back!