Low GPA, choices?

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Meddocs

5+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hello . I am first-generation, economically disadvantaged, Asian female student in college right now in NYC. I am majoring in both Biology and psychology and I am in my fifth year. After a few internships and thorough self questioning, I truly believe I want to pursue medicine and apply for medical school.

However, I'm at a point now where now I have both a low overall GPA and science GPA. (3.0 overall, 2.4 sGPA, 'other' GPA 3.6) . I calculated sGPA with the Fs I received as well. 1 F and 1 D I received in a class.

In terms of my concerns: I have taken ALL of the required pre-med prereq courses. But most of them I received C's. Now my question is : what should I do?

1) I can apply for SMPs but most SMPs request a science GPA to be a 3.0. Should I continue to take undergrad courses to boost up sGPA just to apply for an SMP?

2) Should I apply for a masters in biomedical science program (MSBS) specifially geared towards having students take rigorous science courses? I understand that this GPA will be considered separate from undergrad, but do I have a chance if my MS grades are much higher?

3) Should I do post bacc program? However I've taken all pre req courses and I would just be repeating the courses and spending a lot of money to be part of a program. Would most likely take 2 years

OR

4) Should I remain an undergrad at my school (not file for graduation) and take upper level science courses (not enroll in any SMP, MS, or Postbac program) until I get a higher GPA and also study for MCAT. Would I still have a chance?

My extracurriculars include :
1.5 year of research in cancer biology at MSK (still ongoing....)
Nera med prep program at Columbia University & Mount Sinai.
1000 + volunteer hours including shadowing and community service
Tutoring for psychology and biology courses