Low GPA 1100 GRE

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

MedSchoolHopefu

10+ Year Member
5+ Year Member
15+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hey everyone, I was going to go into Post-bacc work and try to get into med school bust decided on pursuing an MPH at least for now. I just graduated from Providence College with a degree in Political Science, I have a 2.7 gpa and an 1100 GRE. I have 5+ years work experience in community health and I'm volunteering for a year in a medical shelter in Costa Rica begining in Sept. I'm curious to know what programs will accept me with my low numbers, or rather, what schools should I look at realistically. Location doesn't really matter, but I would prefer to stay in the Boston area. Hope someone can help.

Thanks,

Dan

Members don't see this ad.

The GPA is pretty low for MPH schools. Most good or high ranked schools look for atleast a 3.0. In your area you have BU and Harvard which are pretty popular but I think you GPA will cause a problem. I would recommend taking some classes to improve that. Your work experience is great and the GRE scores are okay. You can talk to the schools if they think your scores are competitive. Good luck.

Homer101 said:
The GPA is pretty low for MPH schools. Most good or high ranked schools look for atleast a 3.0. In your area you have BU and Harvard which are pretty popular but I think you GPA will cause a problem. I would recommend taking some classes to improve that. Your work experience is great and the GRE scores are okay. You can talk to the schools if they think your scores are competitive. Good luck.