Looking for thoughts/anecdotes on locums urology

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

rodsquad

Reaction score
I'm a current resident getting to that point where I'm starting the process of thinking about what I want my career to look like. I'm about 90% sure I'm going to end up doing general urology. I have no desire for academics. I've been trying to think ahead at what I see myself doing for my first few years of attendinghood. I know that the ABU requires 16 months of practice in a *single* community to take your boards so I will likely take a full time job until I can be board certified and pay off my student loans aggressively but after that I am seriously considering doing locums. Unfortunately there isn't a lot of information freely available on the web on what locums life looks like for a urologist. There are tons and tons of articles/blogs/etc written for ER/gas/IM/FM locums and even a decent amount of posts on reddit/SDN about general surgery locums but I was wondering if anyone here had any resources or even anecdotes on what one could expect for doing locums, especially so for a young attending urologist rather than an end-of-career urologist (though any perspective is welcome). I'm mostly curious on what caseloads are like, OR vs clinic, schedule, pay, challenges/benefits, general respect among colleagues in locums (at my hospital, for example, I know that the heme/onc locums are treated VERY poorly by the other attendings compared to the permanent heme/onc docs, but perhaps that just my hospital?).

Really any input would be greatly appreciated. I know it's a non-traditional route but it's one I'm pretty interested in pursuing for at least a few years before I 'settle down'. Thanks in advance.

Members don't see this ad.