Locum Cancellation

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

Realgassy

2+ Year Member
Reaction score
Hi, I’m relatively new to the locum game. My first big assignment cancelled on me 7 weeks out from the start date. Apparently 20 other docs were similarly informed yesterday. The reasoning given was that the hospital is moving to a direct hire process. It’s not the end of the world, but it is frustrating with the time I have already invested in credentialing process. Thankfully I have other gigs I should be able to fall back on for now.

Can any of y’all chime in on how often this situation has happened to you? Any red flags I should look for in the future? Would appreciate some feedback.

Members don't see this ad.

Hi, I’m relatively new to the locum game. My first big assignment cancelled on me 7 weeks out from the start date. Apparently 20 other docs were similarly informed yesterday. The reasoning given was that the hospital is moving to a direct hire process. It’s not the end of the world, but it is frustrating with the time I have already invested in credentialing process. Thankfully I have other gigs I should be able to fall back on for now.

Can any of y’all chime in on how often this situation has happened to you? Any red flags I should look for in the future? Would appreciate some feedback.
I've been doing fulltime locums work for the last 4 years. My biggest advice is to ALWAYS be credentialed at multiple locations. Never work just one job as these cancelations can happen and if you aren't credentialed elsewhere, you're stuck. I'd also advise you to be PRN somewhere close to where you live so that you can possibly pick up in times where you get cancelled or need to pivot. The locums game is not for everyone and carries the risk of income fluctuation as a result of this. Make sure you are in a financial situation to withstand the ebs and flows.

Reactions: 4 users