Living through Residency

This forum made possible through the generous support of SDN members, donors, and sponsors. Thank you.

cml156

LMUCVM 2025
2+ Year Member
Reaction score
I am a student who is very determined to pursue a SA rotating internship and a residency post DVM. I have already been looking at various programs on VIRMP and was wondering if anyone who's gone through an internship or residency can speak on how it was living-wise with the finances we are offered? I would hate for finances to deter me from a good program that could be within my best interest in the long run. I'm just worried about trying to pay for me, my partner (since they are still in school), and our pets while living in a downtown city near one of the vet schools for residency. I would love to hear experiences from others to give me some peace of mind! Thank you so much!

Members don't see this ad.

I went into debt by the end of my academic internship, and that was even without needing to make student loan payments. I might have been able to skate by, the the cost of visiting places for residency interviews, attending a conference, and some unexpected vet bills plus residency moving expenses did me in.

The pay in private practice programs typically is better. In my private practice resident I am making more than double what I did in internship.

Members don't see this ad :)
I definitely needed financial support from my parents during internship. I was at a low paying private practice program in a state with a high cost of living (which I’m sure is only worse now, since I was an intern eight years ago). My rent was $1200 and my monthly take home pay was barely over $1600. My parents paid for my gas, car insurance, phone, health insurance (because I wasn’t 26 yet) and more than one grocery trip. Most months I could scrape by, and honestly as an intern I was too busy to do much more than work and recover+grocery shop on my days off.